The Bicycle and Motorcycle Dynamics Conference is held every three years. The first conference was held in Delft, Netherlands in 2010. The aim of this symposium is to bring together leading scientists and researchers in the field of bicycle and motorcycle dynamics and control, in a broad sense.

Topics include but are not limited to: bicycles, motorcycles, unicycles, single track vehicles, modelling, kinematics and dynamics, control, human control, rider properties, handling qualities, tires, experiments, aerodynamics, simulators, nonholonomic dynamics, robot riders, path following.

For an open sharing of information, the meeting is organized to provide as much interaction between participants as possible. The format is informal and fluid, with a single track of presentations and extensive time scheduled for interaction, and the forming and sharing of ideas.

A scientific committee is selected for each conference. Past scientific committee members are:

  • Jim Brendelson, Harley-Davidson Motor Company, USA
  • Alberto Doria, University of Padua, Italy
  • Andrew Dressel, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
  • Mont Hubbard, University of California Davis, USA
  • Ichiro Kageyama, Nihon University, Japan
  • Tsuyoshi Katayama, Kurume Institute of Technology, Japan
  • David Limebeer, University of Oxford, UK
  • Roberto Lot, University of Southampton, UK
  • Jay Maas, Trek Bicycle Corporation, USA
  • Jaap Meijaard, Olton Engineering, The Netherlands
  • Jason K. Moore, University of California Davis, USA
  • Hidekazu Nishimura, Keio University, Japan
  • Jim Papadopoulos, Northeastern University, USA
  • Manfred Plöchl, Technische Universitat Wien, Austria
  • Atanas Popov, University of Nottingham, UK
  • Andy Ruina, Cornell University, USA
  • James Sadauckas, Harley-Davidson Motor Company, USA
  • Sergio Savaresi, Politechnico di Milano, Italy
  • Arend Schwab, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
  • Mio Suzuki, Trek Bicycle Corporation, USA